Les Ballet De Faile

Last night we went to Les Ballet De Faile, a New York City Ballet collaboration with Brooklyn based artists Faile. We each received a hand painted block to take home.

I’m not a huge fan of contemporary ballet – I prefer the classical, overly romanticized ballets. Basically, I’m a sucker for tutus.

I was fascinated with the giant skirt/cape that the female wore in the third piece, Variations pour une Porte et un Soupir. It spanned the entire stage, and would engulf the dancer at various points during the piece. Unfortunately I couldn’t find a photo from this year’s performance, but I did find one from a previous NYCB performance.

Image

The Faile art installation was impressive – each block was hand painted. Here are some of my favorite blocks from the installation.

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

There’s another performance May 29th. If you missed this one, I recommend going to the next one.

xoxo

Leave a comment

Filed under Out & About

Leave a Reply

